A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Because oil is such a precious fuel a great deal of money is spent looking for it. Some people believe that this is counterproductive as oil is finite so therefore we should spend some of this money advancing new power sources. I agree with this point and think that we should stop focussing on oil supplies as it is both unsustainable an harmful to the environment. Oil is not only very expensive but it is also one of the most commonly sold commodities on the planet. For this reason many people invest great sums of money in locating and extracting it. Furthermore, countries that have been able to find oil supplies have seen a huge rise in their GDP and a corresponding rise in their population’s living standards. However, oil is not a renewable energy sources and one day the earth’s supplies will be depleted. For this reason it is not logical for us to continue being dependent on oil and should instead devote time and money on the development of sustainable alternatives. These alternatives already exist in the form of wind, hydro and solar power but need to be invested in to meet the global demand for energy. Another issue with our reliance on oil is the effect that it has on the environment. The burning of fossil fuels like oil is one of the key causes of climate change. For this reason many people argue that, rather than looking for new ways of extracting oil, its use should be greatly limited. They argue that, if we do not address the problem now, many parts of the world will be uninhabitable in the future. In conclusion, despite the financial benefit for those that find supplies of oil, I would argue that we need to end our reliance on it. The environmental problems that it causes are too great to be ignored and, given that it will one day be depleted anyway, we need to start using alternatives now.