Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or motor-bikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The high incidence of road collisions has become a serious problem in many cities, posing a threat to people’s safety. To address this issue, some people propose that we should increase the minimum age for driving motor vehicles. While this measure may seem reasonable, I do not believe it is the most effective solution. Raising the legal requirement for driving licence applicants who are too young to drive on roads may improve traffic safety to some extent because teenagers seem to cause more car crashes than older drivers do. Young people are thought to lack a sense of responsibility, which results in their limited awareness of the importance of obeying regulations and laws on roads. Due to peer pressure, many of them are inclined to engage in stimulating and adventurous activities, increasing the likelihood of them driving over the speed limit. As people get older, they tend to become more emotionally mature and learn to make wise decisions while driving. However, considering the large number of accidents that are unrelated to age, raising the legal level alone may not be the most effective measure, and other complementary approaches should be considered. Collisions can also be caused by older and experienced drivers who intentionally violate laws. Therefore, the authorities should enhance road monitoring and impose strict punishments for violators. Other measures, such as maintaining road facilities well, and ensuring clear signs are essential, as accidents can sometimes be attributed to broken traffic lights or unclear signals. Overall, to reduce the number of traffic violations, the whole society needs to take multiple measures and establishing an age limit for driving is just one possible method.