3.In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

In my country just like most Asian countries, our secondary schools aim to provide us with an education that covers a range of subjects. This makes sure that students master general knowledge. Conversely, there is a different education system that promotes children focusing on a narrow range of subjects which relate to a specific career. Nowadays, having a thorough understanding before deciding on a job can let us explore more probabilities, thinks about what we are interested in and in the end might help us make a better decision. As an example, after learning biology, chemistry and physics, one might know the limits and interest in one subject which can help him or her to decide what field to start their deep learning. Therefore this can avoid them from regretting after a long time of studying which might help decrease the withdrawal rate from the university. Nevertheless, pupils can skip what they are not interested in by centralizing certain subjects. I believe lots of us struggle a lot at a young age when we were forced to study topics that we dislike. For example, I hated my Malay teacher who taught me to memorize lots of essays. At that time, I am so rebellious that I just refuse to learn. As a result, it turned out that Malay was my worst area. This type of system can help people to aim at what they are well at and help them to expertise in that sector. This can also promote confidence while studying. To sum up, modern society changes fast, I think it is important that we need to prepare ourselves to adapt to whatever the world is. In order to achieve that, I believe that having common and widespread knowledge is the way we can keep up with the world.