It has been suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is certainly true that there is a rising tendency about teaching kids a variety of competence. In this essay, I'll discuss the perceived benefits and drawbacks of this trend and provide evidence as to why the pros do in fact outweigh the cons. One of the many advantages of this tendency is that it enables society to teach kids various valuable skills; therefore, helping to prepare them for potential crises like war or civil unrest, if youngsters had such abilities, it would be easier for the nation to rise again. Moreover, if individuals learned how to cultivate vegetables, they would definitely take a great interest and care about this particular field when they grow up, for example, in China, the government recently added a subject matter about modern Agriculture in its primary schools. Despite the obvious appeal, there are some disadvantages to this trend, some argue that pupils are supposed to only learn basic subjects, like Math or Science and that their curriculum is already full; thus, adding extra lessons would mean more pressure on them, for instance, a documentary aired on CNN last year reported that the ministry of education of the UK has received several complaints about the extra charge that their kids are bearing. Furthermore, primary children should spend their leisure time playing outdoors or making new friends, which are considered healthy activities for humans at their age and not be taught about a grown-up skill that they probably won't have to use their whole lives. To conclude, there are different benefits and drawbacks to this trend; however, I would argue that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.