Some students take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Discus the advantages and disadvantages.

Some scholars tend to take a period of one year after graduating high school for various purposes such as working or traveling, although this might be considered a wasted time, this is not always the case. In this essay, I will elaborate on the pros and cons of taking a gap year after graduating high school with relevant examples. Firstly, teenagers who prefer to take this advantage opine that they could save some money from getting a part- time job so they could support themselves in the university period. For instance, in some developing countries some private colleges require high fees, thus not all teens could afford to pay this amount of cash. Therefore they seek work during this period to pursue their desire in joining high standards universities. In addtion, youngsters who eager to discover new destinations over the globe, would not have time to travel if they do not take a gap year after graduating. On the other hand, the demerits of this trend are obvious. For example, teens could be isolated from their education journey for an entire year which would affect their education level. Secondly, those who choose to continue their studies without take this gap year could have an opportunity to graduate and involve in the work market before those who take a gap year. Although they are the same age, some of them will have an advantage over the others. Additionally, in some eastern countries such as Egypt, laws could change anytime with regard to the education rules, hence they would impose extra fees for those who skip one year. In conclusion, although this trend brings benefits for youngsters, it depends on the circumstances and the place they are. Spending this time working or traveling is advisable even though it could be considered a wasted time in some cases if they do not have a plan or use this time wisely.