Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Alternative medicine has been a popular option to regular doctors in hospitals or clinics, and the number of people who go to alternative medical treatment has increased. I personally believe that this is a negative development. To begin with, this is bad for the medical professionals themselves. When people stop seeing doctors, there might be a decrease in the number of patients in hospitals. This lack of patients could lead to lower income for doctors and other medical workers in these hospitals. This condition can be considered unfair for those who have spent years and much money to pursue degrees in medicine. As s result, many people will be reluctant to become doctors, and the number might decline. Moreover, this will bring drawbacks to the people as well. Many of the so-called alternative medicines or treatments have not been tested yet, so there is no proof of their effectiveness in actually curing people. The worst possibility is that the medicine does not work at all. This means that people might be spending money to receive alternative treatment for nothing. Therefore, instead of saving money by going to a cheaper alternative treatment, they actually waste more money. For example, an old man can visit a traditional healer ten times and pay 500k (50k /visit) and still cannot be cured. Although this is less costly than going to the regular doctor, the money is gone without any good result. All in all, the increasing popularity of alternative medicine is only going to give drawbacks, in my opinion. It has negative effects on both the medical professionals and the patients.