In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

It is true that the consumption of imported food has increased in recent years. There are some elements and measures that can be given to explain and tackle the phenomenon and encourage people to utilize domestic production. In many countries, people are buying more imported items, and there are a number of reasons to explain why this is happening. Firstly, the attractive marketing and presentation of international food products give them an appealing and appetizing appearance. Consumers then come to expect certain high standards of packaging so that food looks tasty, safe, hygienic, and, in the case of some products, easy to prepare. Secondly, the availability of a wide range of food coming from many places enables people to vary their diet and experiment with new recipes. This may provide a welcome change from eating the same meals every day, which inevitably becomes tedious and no longer stimulates the taste buds. It is possible, however, to take steps to encourage the consumption of locally produced food. Local growers should ensure that their products always look clean and fresh. In Vietnam, for example, all the fruit and vegetables, meat and fish on display at local markets must be presented in scrupulously hygienic conditions, protected by plastic wrapping to keep away dust or flies. The government should enforce strict food safety regulations. Another measure could be to increase the variety of food produced by local farmers, which would then eliminate the need to import those foods from other countries. This would stimulate the local economy and reduce the environmental costs of transportation known as food miles. In conclusion, while are some obvious reasons to explain the rise in the rise of imported food such as marketing and the abundant source of supply, some simple measures should be adopted by local producers to meet this challenge, namely increase quality and variety of food.