More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In light of the current rise in the number of obese people, some suggest that increasing the price of high-fat foods can be an effective solution. I mostly agree with this suggestion given the fact that it holds the potential to decrease the consumption of these foods although it may fail to tackle the factor regarding inactive lifestyles that contribute to obesity. My first rationale is that an increase in the price of fatty foods can demotivate potential customers. It is true that many buyers are sensitive to changes in prices, thus an increase in the cost of fat-laden options is likely to discourage their purchase. This price surge will prompt individuals to reduce the frequency and quantity of their purchases, reducing overall consumption and eventually the likelihood of obesity. Additional reasoning for my support of the price increase is that a major contributor to the rise in the consumption of fattening dishes is the appealing advertising campaigns. These are often run by restaurants and other food providers to boost their sales. However, the drop in consumption resulting from the rise in product prices will make these businesses less profitable, forcing them to cut down their budget on these campaigns. Consequently, with fewer advertisements promoting high-fat foods, fewer people will be tempted into buying and consuming them. However, I concede that higher prices for affected foods might not be an ultimately effective solution to the issue of obesity. This is primarily due to the fact that people can still become obese when consuming less fatty foods, if they embrace the sedentary lifestyle which involves a minimum amount of physical activity that helps burn the excess fat in their body. In conclusion, I mostly agree with the idea of raising the prices of fatty foods to address the problem of obesity. The increased prices will effectively discourage consumers from making purchases and lead food companies to reduce their advertising efforts for such foods; however, this solution does not address another cause of obesity which is the lack of physical activity in daily life. Therefore, a comprehensive measure would be increasing high-fat foods prices while concurrently encouraging people to engage in regular physical exercises.