The use of personal cars has increased more than ever before but this use of cars causes many problems. What are those problems? To reduce these problems, should we discourage people to use cars? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Thanks to the industrial revolution, the introduction of the chain production system by Ford and modern technolocial advances, nowadays it is fairly easy to produce a car, considering how it takes roughly 5 to 6 months to commission one. Consequently, since the last economic boom in the '50s, the use of personal vehicles has increased considerably, to the point where cars are not just a mean to move more efficiently, but a source of national pride as well as prestige: one example is the Italian Fiat 500, which, as the deceased Fiat's owner Agnelli said, "put Italy on wheels". However, it is proven how the vast distribution of single-use vehicles has major downturns, both social and climate-wise. Nowadays, the most populated areas are cities and megalopolis, which consequently are densely populated. Considering how, on averege, a person who resides in a metropolitan area owns a personal car, one of the most pressing problems municipal institutions need to face are traffic jams and parkings shortage: as a matter of fact, both of these concernes cause acustic pollution as well as air pollution, which decrease sensibly the residents' quality of life. In the worst case scenario, cities may become unsuitable for a healthy lifestyle in the near future, encouraging people to move to rural and residential areas nearby, causing considerable economical problems to vendors and business located within the city, such as decreasing in property value. One easily applicable solution would be to invest in an efficient and well thought public transportation system, which would have to be even more convenient than car transportation, in order to encourage the averege person to prefer the convenience of public transportation. In order to achieve this milestone, it is necessary that the system shall be accurately managed and inconveniences reduced to a minimun, as well as priced more economically convenient than personal transportation. Another feasable solution may be creating a city-driven car -sharing system, thanks to which up to 4 people may use the same car for their daily activities. However, studies have shown how in some instances such systems have actually increased the car demand, therefore worsening the problem instead of solving it.