Thanks to the development of technology, many emploers are now offering employees the option to work from home. is this a positive or negative development?

In these days, working remotely has become quite a popular trend as the development of technology and people have opportunities to chose their work places than in the past. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of working from home. Firstly, one of the major benefits of working remotely is that you can avoid rush-hour traffic and reduce traveling time. Taking public transport could be a massive stress especially, in the morning. Therefore, working from home eventually can increase productivity and reduce stress. Secondary, working from home gives you much more freedom and flexibility to manage your working day. For example, individuals can use extra time for their hobbies or exercises and this contributes to not only reduce their stress but also maintain life-work balances. By contrast, it also can be very easy to get distracted if you are in your own environment. As a result, the output may decrease when workers are not under the supervision of their employers. Another major disadvantage is that people have much less contact with their colleagues. This can make them feel cut off, despite the extra freedom they have. For instance, we were forced to stay home with no physical contact with the others during the Covid-19 restriction. This affected on the large number of people mentally, such as sadness or depression due to their experiences of isolation. In conclusion, although both positives and negatives of working from home were discussed, people continuously work remotely as it gives them more freedom. However,I believe it is paramount to keep work and home life separate to find the right work-life balance.