Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which cause many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, industrialization has affected even the food industry, and instant food has become more and more popular. The main ingredient in these products is sugar making various foods and drinks. Since sugar would lead to lots of diseases, some believe that products should be unaffordable to eliminate sugar consumption. Although health problems related to sugar intake such as obesity, diabetes, and hypertension are threatening human health, I partially disagree with the former opinion because of the reasons that I will mention in this essay. The group who are in favour of banning consumption of sugar by increasing the price of manufactured meals are concerned about the negative consequences that sugar has on our bodies. Despite the fact that sugar is the main source for meeting our bodies' need for energy, its over-intake would cause different problems such as obesity, diabetes and other chronic diseases. To illustrate, one bottle of soda contains more than ten spoons of sugar. Our body would utilize just one spoon of that carbohydrate and its extra consumed sugar might be stored as fat in our body and leads to overweighting. Consequently, considering those negative influences, consuming sugar should be limited. On the other hand, since manufactured food is more accessible and also affordable, it would be the only food that communities specially under-privileges in some parts of the globe consume. Therefore, by increasing food prices, we would strip groups of people depending on these food supplies. For example, the price of one soda is almost half of a fresh juice. so, with the financial recession that most people are struggling with, it would be more likely that people choose soda instead of fresh juice. To sum up, based on the arguments cited above, I tend to partially disagree with the statement, because It would not be a sustainable solution for the issue. Moreover, it is the government's responsibility to make the public aware of the negative impact of excessive sugar intake by educating them. In addition, authorities should make policies to fall the cost of healthy food to encourage individuals to purchase fresh healthy vegetables and meat.