In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for Governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extend do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is fact that average human lifespan increased over time, and improved elderly population starts a discussion between governments and society. A group of people believe that ageing population is a burden for governments, however, other people think there are numerous benefits of elder people for their society. The elderly served their nation through their whole carrier, and households which makes their importance as precious. However, their healthcare expenditure and insurance outcomes can be challenging for their families and governments. The healthcare spending for elder people is more expensive than adults and children. Dementia, heart problems, hip fractures and dislocations, hypertension and diabetes are the major health problems which are improving with aging, therefore, older people experienced most of these diseases. Moreover the cost of treatment for these diseases will increase over time due to rose average lifespan. It is true that insurance companies were realised this fact and they have started to arrange insurance prices according to ages. For instance, a 60 years old man, and a college student is not pay the same amount for health insurance anymore. Clearly, insurance firms know elder population requires more attention and efforts for their health. On the other hand, some individuals believe young generation needs experienced advices for all kind of sectors from the elderly. Many critical areas such as finance and politics require decades of experience for development. Compaines and governments are authorize older people for important roles in different positions for consulting and advising purposes. Political organisations and companies can not take risk for their actions and rely on working experience in the sector. In conclusion, some people believe older people is problem for their communities, but others believe, on the contrary, they are beneficial in different areas.