Some individuals believe that the primary goal of universities should be to provide information and skills for needed for future work. Others however feel that the main objective of universities is to give students access to knowledge for its own values regardless of the information is useful for a job or not. What in your opinions, should be the primary objective of university education?

Whilst many think that the main goal of universities is to impart work-related knowledge to students, so that they can get ready to enter the workforce, I believe that these universities must also help pupils with intellectual and holistic development as well, a balanced approach is necessary for students while studying a third level education. To begin with, those who argue that universities must support students with practical knowledge are in favour that, these skills would help learners to secure better jobs in various organisations. Also, making students ready according to various job markets in the world is a necessary step that universities need to take, and this would aid learners to make their future bright. Various practical courses are available in universities, for example, engineering, medical science, computer courses and many more, assisting pupils to learn different aspects of these courses, and imparting thorough knowledge about these fields should be the primary goal of the universities to make students ready to work. On the other hand, however, I believe that the sole purpose of the third level education is not to make students ready for jobs by imparting practical skills but also to broaden their horizons, so that they can become better citizens in society. Universities must guide pupils to understand between right and wrong that would stem in them in their whole lives. Moreover, assisting students with other important skills such as creativity, and critical thinking, and raising their intellectual abilities in play an important role in the lives of students to foster a better understanding of the world as universities are responsible for the holistic development of the learners. In conclusion, although it is important to make students ready for employability by the universities, it should not be the only focus, rather a balanced approach is necessary in order to make students understand the importance of other aspects like reasoning, and creativity in order for an overall development.