Topic 2: Scientists say that in the future, humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Nowadays, technologists expect that all folks will have no barrier in communicating with each others by speaking and using a global language. From my point of view, such a development, although essential at some point, could be seen as a detrimental step forward. On the one hand, a single language can promote communication between different cultural facilities. For example, one year ago, I had the chance to spend high school in Canada, where English is the most common tongue. As an international student, I remember making friends from around the world, such as Chinese, Japanese, and Canadian. Not only that, but we also shared our culture and learned about others' history through English. Everyone understands that expressing yourself in a language makes mingling and making friends easier. On the other hand, firstly, using identical language is that the chosen language may become very technical and impoverished for non-native speakers. For instance, the Eskimos have several words for "snow" because they need it. They could not express themselves adequately if they only had one word for snow. Furthermore, Swedish people would be unable to use "lagom," which says much about Swedish society and people. Secondly, universal language can have a bad influence on the cultural diversity of the world, local literature will be completely lost if everyone will begin in communicating in the same language. This can be evident from the fact that many languages have already become extinct. It is very disturbing for the humanity. To conclude, having a global language might help to promote communication. In contrast, many aspects of this action might bring many adverse effects, such as losing identity.