There are growing demands for fresh water nowadays and this is becoming a global problem. What are the causes and solutions?

Fresh water is considered one of the most severe problems the world is facing today. Rapid population growth and climate change appear to be the main causes of the problem, and effective measures tend to lie in green technology and raising public awareness. The more the population and urban areas grow, the more the demand for fresh water increases, as it is the backbone of survival. Not only do people residing in both cities and the countryside rely on water to drink, but they also use it on a daily basis, ranging from washing dishes, doing laundry to agricultural expansion, all of which lead to severe water scarcity. For example, in populated countries like China, where water shortages are frequent, issues related to fresh water consumption are likely to arise. Climate change is another cause of this issue. The water cycle is often disrupted by global warming, meaning that the amount of rainfall declines, which in turn results in less natural fresh water flow, thereby exacerbating the impact of the problem even further. To tackle this issue, there seem to be several solutions involved. First, investing in filtration and processing technologies – which purify undrinkable water into consumable water by removing pollutants and adding beneficial supplements – seems to be a viable option. If contaminants are removed from water bodies, it may not only become a supplement to underground water reserves, but also improve the overall well-being of the public. Take the city of Dubai, where access to fresh water is limited and these technologies have already been applied to supply water, as a pertinent example. Another solution is raising public awareness. Once people are encouraged to become environmentally conscious through training and government campaigns, they may realize the negative consequences of their actions, thus using natural resources, including water, more wisely and bringing about positive outcomes. In conclusion, the ever-rising number of the population worldwide and changing weather conditions appear to be the main roots of depleting fresh water sources. However, this can be tackled by a combination of technological advancements and increased public awareness.