Some people think that older school children should learn a wide range of subjects and develop knowledge. But other people think that they should only learn a small number of subjects in detail Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The width or depth of educational directions has been argued for hundreds of years without any unified opinions by parents, teachers and education departments. A wide variety of subjects and knowledge will provide more opportunities to the kid, while detailly cultivating one or two strengths will also bring more advantages during the career. This essay will discuss both arguments in equal priority. On the one hand, since children’s talent is difficult to discover during their early careers, the best option for future development is building a compact foundation that could be applied in different directions and changed environments. So learning various lessons and skills can help students in different approaches, including testing and noticing their potential, promoting their interest in exploration and training their adaptive capacity, which means the challenges and changes coming will be handled in a more familiar method without any doubt and confusion. In addition, a wide range of fundamental knowledge could benefit future graduates, corresponding to the fast growth of scientific technology and rapid changes in the job market. On the other hand, focusing on typical subjects always plays a critical role as a shortcut for middle school students in order to increase their academic scores and strengthen related background knowledge. Normally, students can efficiently achieve some improvements by concentrating on one or two majors, immersing themselves in the database of relative discipline, and accelerating the information-taking process. Therefore, the gap between them and other students in specific areas will hiddenly expand until the end of their studying career, and these advantages strongly impact the possibility of an ideal occupation. Furthermore, the distribution of education resources could be optimised through fewer curriculums taken by each student, contributing to the quality and suitability of both the teaching organization and respondents. In conclusion, although both of the suggestions are reasonable and equivalent based in my opinion, the free selection and switching between them will be most necessary to establish an excellent teaching system, which is not only able to afford a comprehensive basic of abilities and habits, but also can order an allowance for each individual to delve into specific field because of faith and love.