It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

With the popularity of private cars and the Internet, an increasing number of people prefer to go shopping in large chain stores even choosing e-commerce platforms such as online apps or websites. There is no doubt that it will pose a threat to the local markets in terms of employment and social interaction. I believe that government can adopt some strategies and incentives to encourage and support these retailers. To begin with, when people choose to shop from big companies or apps, some small stores in local communities have to face losing their source of life and community identity. Because most of them are run by residents or families. Local shops are often places where neighbourhood and residents gather and interact. As they decline, social cohesion within the community can suffer. For example, a family farming relies on their neighbours to survive, if they lost their market of business, they are hardly to live in this area. Consequently, in order to encourage and support this local business, governments can provide financial incentives and reduce taxes for them. Making it easier for them to compete and thrive. Furthermore, governments can build some local farmers' markets regularly with interesting items and public pieces of equipment to absorb residents' visits. The advantage of small local stores is their fresh products, which is very important for them. Additionally, local councils and commitments can create some opportunities to encourage local people to participate in local events, which could create a sense of belonging and attachment to the community's business. In conclusion, the competition from big chain supermarkets and online stores have a negative impact on local small business. However, the government can implement some encouragement to support their development.