Topic: Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. Task: what are the advantages and disadvantages of children playing computer games?

It is clear that computer games have gained popularity, especially among children, over the past few years thanks to advancements in technology. Although the trend is not without disadvantages, I believe the upsides can justify these. On the one hand, there are several drawbacks to the high use of computer games for young people. First, since gaming is addictive in nature, they would end up spending too much time on it, which can result in poor academic performance. In fact, students who are addicted to this leisure activity often have low learning scores at school since they tend to ignore homework and even skip school. Second, excessive screen time can lead to a whole host of health issues. For example, if a child is too obsessed with computer games and therefore less engages in physical activity, he or she will be susceptible to obesity or myopia. On the other hand, the trend can be beneficial to children to a great extent. Young gamers often have invaluable experience in solving complex problems and staying cool under pressure. In fact, many games require a great deal of planning and strategic thinking skills, which are essential for young people when entering the workforce. In addition, playing computer games can help children develop important social skills, including teamwork and collaboration. For instance, PUBG is an online game allowing players to learn how to communicate their ideas effectively and work together with other team members from various backgrounds in order to win a battle, which can be particularly beneficial to those who struggle with social interaction or have difficulty making friends in contexts. In short, the trend has both potential benefits and drawbacks. While there may be some arguments in favour of the negative impacts associated with playing computer games, I believe the advantages are more significant since this leisure activity can play an important role in not just the way a child develops but also in his or her future working life.