Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

The statement is quite clear in its meaning and interpretation. With a rising standard of living and increasingly lenient car loan procedures by financial institutions,car ownership has gone up tremendously worldwide, causing an overrun of existing infrastructure facilities in all major cities. Many global indicators on traffic congestion have constantly put out their reports describing this issue and its widespread implications on comfort, swiftness and simplicity of doing business in such affected areas. Therefore, it is not hard to make out the direct and intended connotations contained in this expression. When it comes to the measures governments can take to discourage people from owning cars, there has been extensive research on this matter throughout the late twentieth century as well as in these times. Studies tend to show that, among others, a more advanced and effective public transportation system enables a city to drastically encourage its inhabitants to own fewer cars. For instance, in the city of Dubai, after the National Metro Company made the rail lines operational and open to the public, traffic congestion decreased by an amazing twenty per cent. Another way of pulling the population away from private vehicles toward public transportation systems is the hiking of fuel prices. With a more than affordable fuel price in the market, there is a higher incentive for the use of buses, shared vehicles and metros. Since a car ideally can carry four people but very commonly carries just one person, commuters will be attracted to ride more shared means of transport in order to save on fuel costs. In conclusion, there are many possible methods governments can adopt to reduce the number of cars on the streets. Along with that, the authorities shall also be concerned about the impact these measures are going to have on the public welfare