All over the world , societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What the reasons for this rise in obesity? How could it be tackled?

Nowadays,obesity is increasing in societies all around the world. Both children and adults are affected by this issue. This essay will look at the causes of this problem and make some suggestions about how to tackle it. One of the main causes of being overweight is the high intake of junk food such as hamburgers, chips, and fried chicken. Many people prefer to have a takeaway meal or pick up pre-prepared food in the supermarket, which contains high salt and fat rather than cooking healthy food at home. For instance, in the UK, to solve problems, the solution is for the government to increase the sales tax on any food that is considered to be unhealthy. This would make consumers decrease their intake of this type of food and start to make healthy homemade. Another cause of obesity is an inactive lifestyle. Part of the reason is that the high quality of life and having many facilities make our lifestyle lazier. Instead of playing outdoor sports, people spend their time watching TV or surfing the internet. As a result, the amount of redundant energy we had consumed will easily transfer into fat. The solution to tackle this problem is that parents should spend time teaching and playing with their children. Doing outdoor activities help us burn energy, keep fit, as well as freshen our mind. In conclusion, obesity becomes an increasingly worrying issue affecting all aged groups. In my opinion, government, parents, and schools are responsible to tackle this problem. Otherwise, society will face even more serious problems in health.