It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people advocate that people should take risks not only in their workplaces but also in their own lives. I personally stand with the idea that the pros of taking risks overshadow the cons of that. In this essay, I will explain why people should take risks in their lives. To begin with, it is admitted that there are several drawbacks that are brought by taking risks. Firstly, engaging in risks is likely to cause financial loss. For example, those individuals who start their own businesses may have to lay emphasis on finance. Abilities and procedures such as producing, packaging, marketing and managing all need a great amount of monetary investment. If a manager takes the wrong strategy in running a business, not only do employers but also employees are forced to take risks to tackle the problems. Secondly, there is a likelihood of suffering health issues while taking risks. For instance, taking part in a car racing may put oneself in grave danger. Nevertheless, I still believe that we should not avoid chances to take risks throughout our lives. Without risks, we will never acquire knowledge which is not available in schools. To illustrate, the ability to grapple with obstacles is raised from a willingness to take risks; meanwhile, after becoming a person equipped with the necessary experiences, we are able to pass on the knowledge that we have learned from the risks. Furthermore, sometimes taking risks will boost one’s confidence by making people feel that they have experienced more than others and know how to deal with problems. In conclusion, although there are arguments that people would better keep themselves away from risks, I strongly suggest that the advantages of taking risks will definitely outshine the disadvantages of it.