The importance of biodiversity is being more widely recognised as increasing numbers of species come under threat. What can be done to maintain biodiversity?

Recently the phenomenon has been brought into focus is that the number of endangered plants and animals continues to grow. This trend has been raising people’s awareness of how vital the preservation of biological diversity is. Some would argue that the loss of biodiversity is a price we must pay for progress. However, governments would address the problem by promoting education and publishing new policies. One possible approach would be for governments to promote a greater understanding of plants and animals. By investing in the research and preservation efforts of universities, zoos, and botanical institutes, students would broaden their horizons about tangible benefits in the form of new medicines whose ingredients may be extracted from wild species. To illustrate, in the US, the government would provide subsidies or fully fund a wide range of campaigns or projects that research and publish newspapers about endangered species, which would inform the locals on environmental issues. However, measures like this may take a long time to transform people’s perceptions. An alternative strategy would be to protect vulnerable species by issuing compulsory restrictions on environment-ruining practices. It is unchallengeable that deforestation and air pollution caused by humans would destroy the ecosystem, which would break the food chain and ultimately push wild species to become extinct. If new regulations are implemented, those practices will be limited, which may create positive outcomes for the conservation of natural habitats and ensure the survival of vulnerable species. In modern advanced societies, illegal activities such as poaching wild animals, for instance, would be put in prison, which may alert the community and minimize the damage to the environment. In conclusion, it is vital to acknowledge that the growing number of vulnerable species, the higher risk of losing biodiversity. Governments should implement a course of action such as raising people’s perceptions and issuing new laws to prevent those species from becoming extinct.