Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. Discuss the impact of it on the environment and on people who lost their jobs because of it.

The popularity of online shopping is skyrocketed due to the upsurge trend of digitalization. In today's world, many people prefer to shop online rather than visiting the stores. Several studies have demonstrated that the substantial influence of this trend is not only impacting the environment but also the employment rate. In the following paragraphs, I will examine how this trend is adversely affecting nature and employment in parallel and finally lead to a logical conclusion. To commence, the advancements in digitalization have dramatically changed the current lifestyle and online shopping is one such example. Because online shopping provides convenience and comfort, people are inclined towards this approach without considering the negative effects that it is coupled with. Buying goods on the web means more investment in packaging and printing labels, which results in the cutting of trees for manufacturing boxes and paper. Consequently, it leads to deforestation and also an imbalance in nature's lifecycle. Moreover, building more warehouses and industrial plants to process goods leave more carbon footprint in the environment and consequently, pollutes the air. Probing ahead, the detrimental effects of online shopping are not limited to the environment, but also the labour market. Many small businesses and shops are closed which were unable to expand their horizon to the online market. Jobs like sales assistants, store managers, and janitors are severely impacted as the demand for such services is decreasing. Moreover, transportation services will also be affected in local communities. To exemplify, the need for local taxis, and public transport will be decreased as people do not feel the need to step foot outside their homes if everything is available at their doorsteps. In conclusion, although online shopping undoubtedly, provides convenience and comfort to individuals, the increased demand is adversely affecting the environment as well as the labour market. Local shops and small-scale businesses are closing due to a decrease in footfall. Parallely, goods packaging and labelling result in the destruction of trees in order to meet the requirements which is causing deforestation and air pollution. Henceforth, these drawbacks are too dire to ignore.