Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a contentious problem that many people are wanting to utilize public transportation like buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free-days and whether there are more advantages. Definitely, there are more metrics when public transportation is used instead of personal vehicles for many reasons. First and foremost, that may promote reduction of pollution. The polluted smoke by vehicles pose a risk demetric to people's health. Hence, the decrease of people controlling vehicles facilitates considerable advantages to health. Furthermore, vehicle-free days may prevent everyone from traffic jams and congestion, which cause many individuals to go to work late. On the other hand, it is said that private transportation being banned may cause some bad issues. In detail, some emergent situations like business, medical or burning need private transportation. I reckon that there are more advantages than drawbacks. But from my perspective, the government needs to consider this problem because of some emergent situation in vehicles-free days.