In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In modern society, it has been more and more convenient to live in cities, which leads to the result that the population in rural area decreases dramatically. I personally think that it is an adverse development. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of this trend. To begin with, it is admitted that the increasing number of people moving to cities can definitely bring plenty of advantages. A case in point is that it can have beneficial effects on countries' economic growth. There are more job prospects in cities that attract the young to enter the workforce there instead of countrysides. For example, most of the world-famous companies are located at downtown, such as Apple, which built its headquarter in New York. Nevertheless, I still believe that the trend of individuals keeping moving to cities and causing the decrease in population in rural places will lead to negative outcomes. First and foremost, there are many farms, forests and ports located in the countryside, as it provides a larger place to develop these industries. However, there is a decreasing number of young people who are unwilling to take part in agriculture-related jobs, which leads to a lack of labours involved in that career, and eventually causes a grave impact on providing ingredients to meet the needs of domestic markets. Secondly, an increasing population in cities may contribute to significantly soaring emissions of greenhouse gases. For instance, commuters need to commute every day, using traffic tools such as cars, metro and buses, which is the key reason to the soaring emissions of carbon dioxide. In conclusion, although there may bring benefits for people to move to cities, I still maintain the idea that the decreasing number of rural population will lead to adverse impact.