the percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend

These days, the number of overweight children has increased dramatically in many prosperous countries. More and more paediatricians are raising alarm about that problem and warning about possible consequences. This essay will discuss the reasons for the problem and the possible effects of it. In my opinion, the main causes are unhealthy eating habits and an inactive lifestyle. Nowadays young people might spend all day at home without any form of physical activity. They do not go outside to play, run and jump, or ride bikes and skateboards either. Besides,not all of them have an opportunity to do sports on a regular basis. For example, many parents are busy doing their job and they do not have time to drive their children to the stadium. Let's not forget that it might be quite expensive.The result is burning fewer calories and gaining weight. Moreover, high-calorie food is cheap and available for almost every child. They consume big portions and do it irregularly which leads to weight issues. Many have never learned andor heard about the rules of nutrition and have no idea how to address the issue. The possible effects of this are mental and physical health problems. First of all, obesity has a huge effect on the endocrine system which is responsible for hormones. Thus, it directly affects the physical and emotional development of young people. In addition, children with obesity often feel stressed and tired. They hardly can study, and have memory issues which might end up with trouble in communication and socializing. To sum up, the level of obesity among pupils and toddlers is a big alarming factor. It is mainly caused by eating disorders and lack of activity. The outcome is loss of health and the possibility to live fully and happily.