Nowadays, more and more children play computer games. Why do you think this is the case? Is it positive or negative development?

Recently, the number of children spending time playing video games is increasing. In my view, this situation will bring negative developments rather than benefits for children. This essay will discuss why young people are attracted to this habit and its detrimental effects on children. There are numerous reasons that cause children's addiction to playing games on the computer. Firstly, parents fail to give control and neglect to give attention to their offspring because they are too occupied with work. Consequently, they lose track of their children's activities and spend less time with their children. That is why children might divert their boredom and loneliness by playing video games and socializing with their virtual friends. Also, the trends keep raising due to the fear of missing out and being influenced by the gamer peers in school. Undoubtedly, children will have that curiosity to try new things that their friends talk about and may be afraid of being labelled as an outdated person. Thus, the lack of control of the family and the influence of friends are the trigger for young people to play games. In my opinion, the impact of computer playing habits raises negative development in family relationships and academic performance. To begin with, children will lose family bonding between their parents, impacting in decreasing direct communication and quality time together with parents. Furthermore, pupils’ school performance and productivity clearly are impacted because they tend to neglect homework and school works, resulting in poor grades and missing subject lessons. Finally, playing computer games for hours results in a sedentary lifestyle that will affect youngsters' well-being in the future. In conclusion, children's addiction to playing video games resulted from weak relationships with parents and peer influence. This is a negative trend that can affect families, productivity and health.