Some school leavers choose to travel or work for a year before going to university

Nowadays, students make a choice between continuing studies immediately after secondary school or taking a year off usually for work or travel. This essay will discuss the motives behind having a gap before continuing the studies at university as well as the demerits associated with the discontinuity. There could be several reasons for taking off before continuing with university studies. Some of the students might be facing financial struggles and may no longer afford to pay the college fee. As a result, they wanted to earn some extra money in order to join the university without others' support. Not only it solves their monetary issues but also helps them to learn real-world scenarios and skills required for the job. Despite this, it helps them to choose the right specialization and degree based on their interest and the strengths they acquired through experience. Alternatively, if the adult choose to travel, they get to learn from the exposure to different cultures, societies, and the sources of economy in the region that they visit. Therefore, they get to opt for their field of graduation wisely based on current job market trends. Although the decision of when to join the university is solely a person’s choice, having a gap will have some negative consequences on their emotions as well as the future. Once they start to work, they can’t stop quitting because of the value and the pleasure they feel while earning. As a result, individuals do not even plan about pursuing a university degree. On the contrary, this has some downsides such as lack of sufficient skills at the workplace leading to lesser pay compared to the undergraduate freshers. If the students chose to travel, most of their savings get lost in travel which might force them to work instead of studying. To conclude, there are copious merits to having a break before a university education such as gaining the necessary funds for higher studies, finding the right major subject, and travel explorations leading to understanding society and its demands. However, some demerits come along with it namely inadequate skills required at work, continuation of job due to its benefits, and running out of funds due to travel.