In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, people in every country in the world are living longer. Thanks in part to improved health care and rising standards of living lead to this current situation. Nevertheless, increased longevity adds to populations. Many experts participate to argue in this global question that has benefits and drawbacks when the community has numerous elder public. For this highly controversial topic, this essay will analyze both advantages and disadvantages, giving a conclusion on whether an ageing society has more pros. In the condition of the ageing society, by 2023 the average person will live to be mostly 78. People that live longer, spend more years dependent on the labour force, dragging economic growth. In other words, most of the ageing population is not able to work, therefore they have to rely on younger workers to live. Furthermore, this condition leads to more workers having more stress on the economy. For instance, there are many retired elderly persons who have little or no retirement pension. As a result, they can only depend on their children’s income to sustain their lives. In addition, this greatly increases the pressure on young workers especially on Chinese families. On the other hand, with the increasing elderly population, there is a potential for greater job opportunities in the nursing sector, because many elders cannot look after themselves. For example, nursing homes and healthcare facilities require more caregivers to meet the escalating healthcare needs of seniors. Additionally, some families hire caregivers to take care of their parents, which further enhances employment opportunities in the nursing sector. The benefit of this situation is that equipment of elders offers some job chances in the nursing sector. However, it is no doubt that the stress and challenges of ageing people will increase the difficulty for young troops. In addition, this will be difficult and challenging for the economy. In conclusion, it seems that an ageing society might not have more strength.