In the past, knowledge was stored in books. Tody, people stored knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays, people tend to store knowledge on the Internet rather than in books. From my point of view, I believe that the positives of this trend outweigh its negatives. To start with, using the internet as a storage for knowledge has two great benefits. First, the internet provides people with quick and easy access to a great variety of information. Whereas in former times, people had to spend much time leafing through numerous pages in search of knowledge, modern people can look for different types of information with just a mouse click. Moreover, with the internet and the help of electronic devices, knowledge is accessible anytime and anywhere. To illustrate, even while running, people can still absorb information from podcasts or audio books, which would be impossible with traditional books. Moreover, the internet allows people to keep more diversified types of knowledge. Since the internet is capable of storing audios and videos, nowadays, film and musical legacies can be stored and shared with our future descendants with ease. Beneficial as it is, storing knowledge online also causes two main problems. Firstly, internet users must be aware of fake news. As anyone can post anything online without verification and repercussions, loads of unreliable information awaits uninformed netizens and supplies them with inaccurate knowledge. This can be dangerous in case the information is health-related or law-related. Secondly, intellectual copyrights are at risk due to the boom of the internet. In recent years, due to how loose cyber laws are, the internet has become a tool for millions of websites to distribute pirated publications in exchange for advertising revenues. These copyright infringements inflict substantial losses on the publishing industry and discourage aspiring authors. To sum up, although storing knowledge on the internet has many disadvantages, it also proves to be immensely advantageous in numerous cases.