The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Sometimes it is argued whether traditional ideas are still valuable nowadays for the youth generation. I would argue that although their thought seems useless to some extent, the core idea is similar. There are several reasons why it could be argued that older generations’ ideas are useless. Firstly, it is true that the elderly has more experience than the younger generation, however, most of them are incompatible now with the new technology. For example, iPhone is designed in the 2010s, which means that the people who is 20 years old and 50 years old witnessed this at the same time. Moreover, the environment we are living is quite different from the older generations’. Take China for example, there are 1 million competing with 100 opportunities to study in the best university. However, the people who took the university entrance exam have much less pressure than now. However, I would argue that although the situations we are facing are quite different, there are still some core ideas still working nowadays. Firstly, the spirituality we deal with in our lives never changed. For example, we can easily find that the older generation is harder than this generation in both working and studying.Meanwhile,there are some experiences from our daily lives are still useful.Our lifestyle changed a lot but we can not deny that much behaviours are kept same as in decades. In conclusion, I deem that although sometime the tips and suggestions from the elder might not efficient anymore, but we still should realize some advice are still capable now.