Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

These days the items made of the plastic such as bottles and packaging are becoming a huge threat to our environment. These non biodegradable materials have detrimental effects on the fertility of soil and purity of air as well as water. Authorities and people should take stern steps like banning the use and manufacturing of plastic items as well as implementing the concept of reduce and reuse. To start with, the prime damaging effect of plastic on our surroundings is that it reduces the productivity of soil. Being a water resistant material, plastic prevents the rain water from seeping into the ground. Thereby, it reduces the level of moisture much needed for the fruit fullness of soil and turns the land into barren. Furthermore, it takes hundreds of years for a single plastic bottle to decompose in our ecosystem. Therefore, to get rid of the heaps of plastic waste, people generally burn the domestic and industrial non degradable waste, and this process emits extremely harmful gases namely carbon monoxide and nitrous oxide. These gases deteriorate the quality of air and accelerate the air pollution by increasing the percentage of minute particles. In addition, the chemicals in the plastic products often reach water bodies and affect the quality of water. This results in the devastation of marine wildlife and vegetation. To resolve the issues caused by plastic products on our ecosystem / environment, the government should issue strict guidelines like banning the utilisation of single use plastic as well as its manufacturing. Owing to these measures, the presence of unwanted material will automatically decrease in our surroundings. Gradually, the quality of air, soil and water will improve. Similarly, people should apply the policy of reducing and reusing the material. If people use carry bags made of cloth instead of plastic, it will prove as a turning point in protecting / saving our ecosystem. Also people should adopt the habit of reusing and recycling the products available to them. This will control the consumption and manufacturing of articles of plastic. In other words, joint efforts of the administration and citizens are required to bring about a drastic change. To conclude, plastic pollutes the air, water and soil and thus harms our environment in so many ways. Collective efforts of the government and the public are required to control the use and abuse of plastic.