Some people believe governments should spend money in saving languages of few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today's globalized world, language is a significant and symbolic item to connect to the world. Many languages worldwide, like English, Chinese, and Spanish, are the most spoken languages worldwide. However, several languages spoken by only a small group of people have the risk of being disappeared. This situation has sparked a debate on whether the government should allocate the funds to prevent the languages from vanishing. This essay will discuss both views and my opinions on the matter. Some people hold the view that governments should spend money to prevent the extinction of languages. Languages are not merely tools for communicating; they are repositories of a community's history, traditions, and identity. They bear their own narrative and perspectives on history and views....if you erase a language, what disappears are not only sounds but also the collective of human memories. For instance, there is a variety of Indigenous languages in Taiwan, but most people speak in Chinese, even though the ratio of speaking English has overtaken the minority languages in Taiwan; this phenomenon shows that the minority languages are not only being replaced by foreign languages but also exaggerate the risk of being vanished. I firmly believe that the government should not spend on saving endangered languages. First, learning a language is not easy; it takes a long time and a lot of work to become fluent, and the ROI(return on investment) of learning is too low. Moreover, the success rate of saving the merely extinct languages is questionable; no one can ensure the existence of the languages. By contrast, governments should allocate the budgets to social welfare or improve medical devices, which can advance society and also be much more useful and practical. In conclusion, although protecting languages is crucial for preserving cultures, the effort the government makes is not proportionate to the outcome. The government should invest in social needs like medical and education. Hence, I am not in favour of spending money on saving language