Some people say that now is the best time in history to be living. What is your opinion about this? What other time in history would be interesting to live in?

It is argued that the majority of people tend to live at present. I may believe that living at present is more convenient than in the past. However, it seems to me that the 1980s was a memorable period in the modern history of Iran. There are several reasons why the present time is a preferable period in history. One of the reasons is the advancement of technology which has brought unprecedented changes to people’s lives. To be specific, thanks to modern and technological facilities, we have been able to communicate with others and spread information across the globe in the shortest time possible. In addition, the advent of the Internet has created several opportunities for humans including keeping ourselves updated and accessing rich knowledge which was unavailable in the past. Thus, it can be said that the era, in which we are living now, is at the cutting edge of technology leading to a comfortable life. Nevertheless, in my opinion, the 1980s is the best time in the history of Iran since family ties were stronger. To put it more simply, in those days, families made gatherings in their grandparents’ houses to watch some shows on black-and-white TVs, which, I remember, was highly entertaining. Moreover, children used to play games that were really enjoyable and physical, unlike modern kids who are addicted to online games and cyberspace. For instance, I would play a game with tiny glass balls called marbles, which made it possible to play in teams. As a result, it is fair to say that the 1980s can be considered a spectacular period in the history of my country. In conclusion, although living in the modern era is more suitable, I personally believe that the late 20th century was a remarkable duration recorded in the minds of young people living in those years.