Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycle are banned from the city centre. People are encouraged to use public transport such as buses, taxies and metro on vehicle-free day. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, people have a variety of vehicle options to go anywhere. However, these vehicles lead to some environmental problems such as air pollution, global warming, climate change and so on. Therefore, people need a comprehensive plan to address the results of using vehicles. Some cities have vehicle-free days to promote the use of public transport. In my opinion, despite some obvious drawbacks which should not be overlooked, I think the benefits of a vehicle-free day outweigh. The advantages of using public transport should be taken into consideration. The major benefit of using public transport which should be initially referred to is that people can be more healthy and problems in the field of environment reduce sharply. Vehicle pollutants harm our health and contain greenhouse gases that cause climate change. If people are unaware of climate change possibility, they will face its results which are famine, drought, and flooding. For instance, a survey found that more than 45% of people living in cities which are not used public transport have more risk to be asthma and breathing difficulties because of toxic gases. Another significant advantage of using public transport is that it helps to protect nonrenewable energy resources which as oil. Due to the ever-increasing number of people, nonrenewable energy resources reduce dramatically. However, people need these energy resources because they are energy-rich and relatively cheap to process. For this reason, thanks to vehicle-free days, people can be aware of the detrimental effects of oil consumption. To sum up, vehicle-free days are beneficial to prevent mentioned above adverse effects of using private vehicles.