Some people think the best city is a vertical city, while others believe a horizontal city is better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One school of thought holds that each city should be constructed vertically as the best way to create an ideal city, whereas others believe that developing horizontally is a better option. The essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives before concluding that I am in favour of the latter notion. On the one hand, some individuals believe that building cities horizontally should be thrived due to a variety of factors. Firstly, the horizontal houses create a private space for each family. Individuals who are living in these homes can do freely what they want without having to comply with any regulations, like keeping pets in their house that are hardly allowed in any apartments. Secondly, these families can save monthly living costs. Due to the specificity of living in private houses, living expenses including parking fees and apartment management costs are almost non-existent, as a result, they can save a significant amount. However, with the current growing population problem, these horizontal houses will be difficult to meet the living needs of many residents in urban areas. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that it is crucial for developing skyscrapers in urban areas. First and foremost, skyscrapers help cities considerably save space. Instead, these cities can spend the rest of this space to develop public facilities that serve the community, such as parks, and libraries, or develop other high-rise buildings to serve the growing need for living in the inner city area. Furthermore, these properties ensure the legal rights of each household living there. Normally, each building has a management board that is responsible for being on duty and supporting households if any problems occur. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that vertical construction has merits to a certain extent, I am convinced that the development of horizontal buildings will contribute to solving survival problems for the future's mankind and therefore it is always the better choice.