There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Students nowadays are frequently evaluated through paper-based exams more than regular assignments in the classroom. It is believed that there are multiple pros and cons of having this approach to assess students. Firstly, this test will allow the students to be evaluated fairly as the content of the exam paper for all students is the same. For example, the students from all different schools will be seated for big examinations such as A Level with the exact same questions. Hence, it will be easier to determine the student’s performance just by comparing their results. Other than that, students will not have to be burdened with a load of homework by having a major exam. The reason is simply that the test will only let them focus on their studies, rather than struggle to finish their workload before the deadline. On the contrary, some people think that conducting an exam to outline the students ’ capabilities is not entirely valid as this will only test them on their academic intelligence, but not on their soft skills. For this reason, it will only be bad for the students as they do not acquire the important skills that are needed outside the classroom. As a result, the quality of the students will incline for a long time. Moreover, exams will only cause the students to be under pressure as they need to prepare diligently. For example, the students might get major stress from studying which leads to severe major mental illness. This is concerning as it will affect their mental well-being, consequently making them not have the mental capacity to keep up with their studies anymore. In conclusion, exams can bring both advantages and disadvantages for students at all study levels. It is up to how the students cope with their studies for exams and balance it will other skills to ensure they can be well rounded in all aspects.