Some people think that current environmental issues are global problems and should therefore be dealt with by government while others believe that these problems can only be tackled by individuals. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, many are of the belief that environmental problems should be addressed by the authorities while others argue that individuals can do it better. The following paragraphs will discuss both of these views before coming to the conclusion that both sides play a crucial role in protecting the natural surroundings. On the one hand, the government should tackle such issues because it can impose laws and regulations toward preserving the environment. For example, to prevent industrial factories from emitting harmful chemicals, they can prohibit their discharge as well as fine those exceeding the limits heavily. People that litter will receive charges and community service. Another reason is that governments are in charge of a mass number of citizens, therefore their actions can make significantly more impacts on the environment. To illustrate, they can definitely encourage the general public to improve natural areas through propaganda, social activities and consumption patterns. Hence, it is understandable why the authorities are believed to be able to address environmental issues. On the other hand, there are a range of reasons why individuals can change the environment for the better. Firstly, as far-reaching as the government’s capabilities are, they cannot orient the masses to preserve natural surroundings as effectively as the public does on their own. In addition, aside from those issues, there are already numerous other responsibilities that the authorities have to carry, so it is unlikely that they can tackle it as comprehensively as individuals. Secondly, because the market operates based on people’s interests, by changing their consumption habits, there is a high likelihood that they can counter environmental issues. For example, many movements toward protesting against animal leather due to its adverse impact on the environment's well-being have led fashion companies to look for alternative clothes materials such as cotton, cactus leather and lining. In conclusion, while it is true that governments can radically alleviate environmental issues through regulations and the power of the masses, individuals’ actions are equally as impactful since without them, the authorities’ policies would not work and they can change the entire market just by being environmentally-conscious.