Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damages does plastic do to environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

It is an irrefutable fact that plastic has a detrimental effect on the environment. It pollutes land and water and affects the fertility of the soil. Limiting the use of plastic is by far the most effective way to reduce its impact on the planet. To begin with, plastic bags, bottles and packaging materials are non-biodegradable and remain in the environment for a long time. Due to this / Because of this it pollutes the soil and air and leads to life threatening diseases. When plastic packaging gets mixed with soil, it affects the breathability of the soil and hurts its fertility. In addition, if plastic waste reaches water bodies, aquatic animals may choke on it and die. Sometimes, people burn plastic to get rid of it and this process releases poisonous gases into the air. Thus, the use of plastic can lead to disastrous effects like air, water and soil pollution as well as transmission of diseases among animals and humans. Limiting the use of plastic is the most effective way to mitigate this issue. There should be blanket ban on the use of plastic materials. As the government is the main ruling body, it can implement stringent rules and punishments on the use of plastic materials. Moreover, the cooperation of people is equally important.. They should use paper or cloth bags to avoid plastic packaging. In addition to this, people should start recycling and reusing materials. In conclusion, continuous use of plastic can lead to irreversible environmental damage. Hence, until scientists manage to invent biodegradable plastic, the only solution we have is to limit the use of plastic.