It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, with the rise of the competitive era between small local shops with big supermarkets and online shops, local businesses end up closing their doors due to bankruptcy. This could be prevented by sponsoring these mini stores on TV or radio. Local shops will suffer from bankruptcy, because, it is not easy to compete with large known shops or online webshops. Big supermarkets are more trusted by consumers, than local community shops and therefore the most visited. Big supermarkets have as well more options than the local ones, which is more sufficient to get the job done at once, for instance, for busy people. Many studies have shown that the trending and popularity of shops are of paramount importance in customers' shop choices. When a product is accessible in a large supermarket or online, is used in a promoting video on social media like TikTok or Instagram, people get easily influenced and buy it from the same known place. Therefore, the local shops become more in the background of the list of shops. To get the local shops more in the spotlight and make them more attractive to customers, it is important to promote their unique products, sales and the most trending services. As a result, people will start shifting more to local markets. The influence of smart marketing these days is usually the base of a good running business. This is one of the reasons why some shops are nowadays only online. In conclusion, bankruptcy of these local shops can be prevented if smart marketing around different social media platforms were engaged in the process.