People today spend less and less time interacting with other people in their neighborhood and this has a negative impact on community. What are the causes and solutions?

With the advent of technology and an era of globalisation, many people do not get much time to interact with their neighbours, which has a negative impact on the communities. This is because most citizens are busy with their life in order to have a good standard of living and spend much of their time on the Internet. However, a possible solution to this cause would be organising a cultural festival in the community and a group meeting in society once a month. One of the causes related to not knowing or interacting with a neighbour is improving the standard of living. Many people want to have a luxurious life, particularly in the metropolitan, so they often work overtime or 24x7 to get this. Another reason is spending more time on the Internet. This is because these days, the majority of people like to spend their time on social media such as Facebook or WhatsApp to kill their leisure time. As a result, they are less inclined to interact with their neighbour. For example, a survey conducted by Facebook found that 85% of people living in the cities do not know a person who is living next to their door as some are busy with their daily work and some are happy to spend their time checking a message on Whatsup and chatting with their friends on Facebook. A possible solution to solve this problem is organising cultural festivals. Governments could organise a cultural festival in the community every month. As a result, many people will come to celebrate their festival, and this would give them a chance to interact with their neighbours and know them very well. Another solution is arranging a monthly meeting in society. Such a meeting will give more opportunity to everyone in the society for knowing about the new arrival in the society, general discussion and get together. Eventually, this will enable us to know more about the people who are living next to our door. In conclusion, improving the standard of living and killing our time on social media platforms results in not knowing our neighbours very well. Only when the higher authorities will organise culture, festivals and meetings of the society on a weekly basis, will the problem be solved.