Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is no doubt that cultural and language barriers are some of the biggest obstacles when it comes to building connections between people of various traditions and generations. A school of thought holds that music is the right means to do so. From my perspective, I totally agree with this viewpoint. Apart from literature, people have been utilizing music as a way to convey their feelings, thoughts and culture for centuries. But unlike literature, one does not need to fully understand a foreign language to be able to enjoy music from a different country. For example, although one can find it hard to communicate with people in an alien environment, he or she can easily listen to its music and feel connected. Besides, listening to music from different cultures or generations can help people learn many new things. In other words, music can narrow the generation gap between people. For instance, the youth will be able to comprehend what their parents or grandparents thought and how they lived in the past when they listen to the old music. Thus, they will appreciate the seniors and will not take things they have for granted. Apart from the aforementioned reasons, I also believe that music plays an important role in inspiring people to learn about other cultures. A good example of this is K-pop, which is loved by many young people in Vietnam, and has urged the youth to learn Korean and explore Korean culture. In conclusion, I personally believe that music is a righteous way to bring people together, regardless of differences in languages, cultures and ages.