Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years, the notion of working independently instead of doing jobs for another organisation is getting popularised. Nevertheless, the probable prime cause of this preference is the hope of earning more money; however, this kind of decision is associated with higher financial risk as well as an extensive workload. First of all, individuals decide to be self-employed by thinking that they could earn more cash if they, for example, start their own business. This is because it is quite a common scenario in job sectors that employees endeavour wholeheartedly to complete their objectives given by their bosses. But when employers give them salaries, it is significantly low in respect to the hard work and efforts that they have given to the company. As a result, employees lose their motive to work for others and start to think about creating a new venture where they are the owners. Moreover, they can earn more money as they are the cash controller. For instance, a recent study by Harvard University based on entrepreneurship depicts that 91% of start-up owners begin to build their companies as an opportunity to acquire more wealth. Nonetheless, this mindset often comes with its own sets of drawbacks, such as greater financial risk and extra pressure of work. Firstly, if someone wants to start a company, he will have to take major financial decisions frequently. Sometimes these decisions could be the main reason for the significant losses. Furthermore, someone might have to put all his wealth at stake to maintain the company. Then, if the organisation fails to survive, Its owners would lose all of their hard-earned money. Secondly, there will always be extra pressure on the owner as they have to manage every work on their own without getting anyone's help. If someone wants to build up their own company, then hard work is a must. Thus, sometimes these associated risks and pressures can be the primary disadvantages of self-employment. In conclusion, It is evident that the number of people leaning towards self-employment is growing rapidly. This essay showed that the mindset of heavy income is the thing that drives adults to work on their own, and greater work tension and financial liabilities could be the major drawbacks of becoming self-employed.