The increase in tourism has led to the destruction of the environment, thus tourism ought to be banned in certain areas? What is your opinion

Tourism has been a huge contributor for many economies around the world. Despite its importance, it has also led to a surge in environmental pollution. Thus, governments have imposed strict regulations to safeguard the environment in certain areas by banning access. In my opinion, I partially agree with this decision. To commence with exploring history and culture, it has been a phenomenon for many tourists to visit various places around the world, but there are instances which have been reported about the land pollution created by the tourists when visiting these areas. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the state to preserve these areas for the future generation. For an example: - In Sri Lanka, visiting the wild in the south of the country had been a famous activity among the tourist, but due to the increased pollution, the government has taken a decision to prevent access to these areas because of safety of endangered species living in the forest. On the other hand, tourism is a critical factor for an economy of a country. Imposing barriers in certain areas would lead to a reduction in the disposable income level of people who are dependent with tourism. This would lead to a rise in the poverty level, and will also limit foreign currency flowing into the country. Hence, the government should think of an alternative way to achieve the same task expected from banning access to these areas. For an instance: - In Sri Lanka, there was a rise in nautical tourism. Due to the pollution created by dumping plastic products in the ocean, the government banned diving in coral reefs. However, after a certain time they allowed access for diving with strict monitoring regulations in place. In conclusion, I am of the view that it should be the natural instinct of everyone to safeguard the environment, so that all the activities are carried out would be environmentally friendly. On the flip side, the government should have a better monitoring system rather than preventing access to certain areas and causing a damage for tourism.