Some people think sending criminals to prison is an effective way to deal with them. Others think education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views regarding how to deal with criminals. While some argue that they should undoubtedly be sent to prisons, others support alternative education methods to solve the root cause. I strongly agree with the latter statement. It is believed that criminals should stay in prison as their penalty. This ordinary manner can not only reduce criminal incidents but also enhance society’s security. Furthermore, most children, students, and youngsters may innocently imitate what the offenders do. To give a clear example, there is evidence that the rate of juvenile crime is increasing year by year. In this context, if those people who break laws can be closed in prisons, it can effectively prevent teenagers from mimicking detrimental behaviours. As a result, our society can achieve the goal of crime prevention and be better than before. Nevertheless, in my opinion, for the purpose of solving potential and root causes, governments should add several educational and training projects to prisons. To begin with, according to the research from BBC, a large proportion of juvenile delinquency occurred seeing that those youngsters lacked knowledge with regard to laws, rights, and criminal behaviours. For instance, plenty of innocent children were taken advantage of by enormous merchants to transport tremendous illegal items, such as drugs, guns, and firearms. Besides, proper training for criminals is able to teach them society's responsibilities. In particular, they can be put in community free service, which can provide the prisoners with valuable training, and develop a sense of responsibility. Therefore, in order to figure out criminal behaviour and prevent potential criminals, it is essential to design a lawful education for criminals, teaching them basic law information. In conclusion, although most people suggest that all offenders should be put in jail without a doubt, I insist that only when governments add compulsory education and training parts can we tackle the root of the crime behaviour.