It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime is a direct influence of the increase in violence in media. To what extent do you agree with the above statement?

The increase reporting about violence via the media has created a perception among society that it has led to a surge in the juvenile crime, but this is not the only factor that has contributed to it. Therefore, in my opinion I partly agree with this statement. To begin with the influence of media, they have been broadly reporting news about crime and the negative aspects of society because of the positive publicity and ratings that they gain. The generation Z and Alpha are bought up in this environment, with more access to the digital content about violence. Thus, creating a psychological motive to engage in violence during their juvenile days because sometimes they believe it is the correct way to live their lives. For an example: - In Sri-Lanka, the media report widely about steeling cash and gold ornaments from the people. This type of news creates a motive psychologically to engage in crimes from early days itself without knowing the consequence of crime. On the other hand, the rise in juvenile crime is also attributed to the self-discipline of human beings. A lot of surveys have highlighted that proper knowledge has not been given to the children by their parents about the wrong doings, and the consequences they will be facing if they are caught with a felony. Secondly, this rise is largely attributed to the loopholes in the law system itself, because more people have escaped with their offences. For an instance: - In Sri-Lanka, drug trafficking is considered to be a criminal activity with the penalty being capital punishment. However, since 1976 there has not been any executions taken place. Hence, a lot of youth has been addicted to drugs over the years in the past. This is a result of a failure in the law system itself. In conclusion, crime is not a result of one act. Therefore, it is important to educate the youth about the consequences of wrongdoings, and correct them when they perform a slightest mistake. On the flip side, the law in the country should take its place.