In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. What are your opinions on this?

There are a lot of fields across the globe where children constitute for a significant portion of the paid labor force. It is argued whether this should be regarded as incorrect or as a way of teaching them work ethics, accountability and providing for work experience. I strongly agree with the former notion because it is immoral and lessens their childhood experience. On the one hand, some people may want to allow the participation of children in paid work as it can be used to teach them certain responsibilities and discipline by rewarding economically. This has always been one of the mechanisms using which children are lured into doing a certain activity; right from finishing their meals to completing their assignments, by giving a prize in the end. Moreover, doing daily chores like washing dishes, sweeping floors, cleaning up after themselves, etc., are some of the habits they need to form to become self-sufficient. So, when the children are allowed to work at cafes, waiting tables for instance, it teaches them a sense of accountability which reflects in their personal lives as well. However, I believe the chances of them getting exploited are far more. On the other hand, a child can get exploited, both economically and mentally, if allowed to work before their legal age. Consider the scenario of a child assisting a tea stall owner. Given how easily children can be intimidated and exploited, this child would be overworked and yet get paid the least because she does not have the capacity or the maturity to fight. In some cities like India, strict child labor laws were introduced in the 2000s in order to get rid of this kind of corruption. Moreover, even in fair conditions, working at this tender age would load them with responsibilities, thereby snatching away the moments or innocent experiences that they are supposed to enjoy. This would lead to a negative impact on their mental health growing up. In conclusion, although allowing young children to work may add some work ethics and a sense of responsibility, it is more harmful to them because of the immorality at hand; mental and economical exploitation at a tender age. In fact, other moral ways must be devised to teach pupils these values.