These days' children are surrounded by electronic devices such as personal computers, tablet computers and smart phones, and they learn to use them at a very early age. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

Personal computers, tablet computers and smartphones are already a part of our daily lives. Babies born in recent years learn how to operate electronic gadgets in their toddlers. There are both benefits and drawbacks to this phenomenon. Firstly, children who have access to electronic devices at an early age can be better prepared for future studies and career development. With a smartphone on hand, youngsters can have numerous of learning resources on their fingertips, For instance, children can learn different languages on Youtube or applications installed in computers. Moreover, allowing youngsters to use gadgets arouses their interests in technology. Given that technology plays a crucial role in modern society, it is essential to equip adolescents with relevant skills since young age. However, a frequent use of electronic devices exerts negative effects on children ’s health as well as the development of interpersonal skills. For example, many primary school children suffer from eye strain in Hong Kong. This will increase the opportunity of getting serious eye diseases when they grow up. The overuse of tablet computers is one of the major factors. Furthermore, over reliance on electronic devices hinders children from fostering good relationship with surrounding people. The may avoid face-to-face interaction. Without a proper environment to nurture social skills in childhood, it will be difficult for adolescents to get along with people when they become adults. To conclude, operating electronic gadgets is beneficial for children to develop technical knowledge while it imposes both physical and mental risks on them. It is vital for parents to strike a balance and provide proper guidance when letting our next generation to use various electronic devices.