Modern technology, such as personal computers and the Internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

It is glaringly obvious that technology, such as the Internet, has revolutionized all aspects of our life. One of the tangible outcomes of this trend is to facilitate working conditions. Although this phenomenon has its own merits, we can not neglect its drawbacks. Thus, this essay will explore both the negative and positive sides of this trend. On the one hand, technology has a positive effect on work-life balance. Nowadays, employees can do errands from remote distances while travelling on holidays. This opportunity provides employees to have a zero-hour contract. That is to say; there is no need to have nine-to-five jobs anymore and confine themselves to their desk. Hence, all these favourable conditions lead to maintaining the mental and physical health of workers who take advantage of modern technologies. On the flip side, modern technology has led to reduced social interactions. This trend provides a situation where everybody can do their kinds of stuff at home, and the consequences would be they become secluded as there is no face-to-face conversation or interaction. In addition, relating to the psychological aspect of modern technology and the Internet, research has depicted that people who spend more time on their laptops become addicted to this advancement and have detrimental consequences that should be considered. To summarize, even though the advancement of technology and the Internet are game-changing, we should not have the mindset that the dark sides will be overshadowed by the bright sides of this trend. Hence, governors and consumers of this technology should be aware of the devastating consequences.