Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Publicity is the art of making products and services more appealing to consumers. There is a current debate between some who believe that advertisements are essential to increase sales while others argue that we are exposed to so many of them that they become invisible. This essay will discuss both perspectives and present reasons why I believe advertising contributes to increased sales. Publicity is now literally everywhere we go, advertisements can be seen on printed media, on TV and on our personal devices. However, the fact that they are everywhere does not mean that consumers are not paying attention to them. What it means, according to Harvard marketing research, is that producers will have to be more creative to stand up. Companies nowadays can use various technologies to check if an ad generates not only revenue but also engagement, meaning that people are buying the item or services and spreading their experience among others. Although sometimes we do not actually remember to have seen one advertisement, science assures that it was registered in some level of our conscience and has a play in guiding our behaviour and decision-making action. It has never been so easy to study marketing behaviour, and neither so cheap to run some types of advertisements. A survey among entrepreneurs of all sizes concluded that investing in publicity increases awareness about the brand, product or service, consequently rising the sales. To conclude, despite the fact of being surrounded by tons of advertisements everywhere we go, they still are an effective way to increase sales. Although it can be easily assumed that it is impossible to pay attention to them, technology is assisting to make them more attractive thus they still promoting sales.